Muir College is pleased to announce the generosity of the Winer Family who have set up a scholarship to assist Muirites who are strong academically, but who do not have the financial means to attend a university of their choice.  Another criteria is to be able to study a university degree which may not be offered in their immediate area.


The first recipient of the scholarship was Jade Williams, School Dux 2008, who was accepted to study medicine at the University of Cape Town and is a resident at Rochester House. The R25 000.00 scholarship will go a long way in assisting Jade realise his dream of becoming a medical doctor.


In 2009 the recipient of the Trevor Winer Scholarship was Jason Barker, who completed his Honours in Accounting at NMMU.


The 2010 recipient, Euan Klassen chose to study Accounting at Stellenbosch university. Euan is currently a Trainee Accountant at KPMG in Johannesburg.


The 2011 recipient, Kevin Flanagan has chosen to study civil engineering at NMMU.


The recipient of the Trevor Winer Scholarship in 2012 went to Kyle Dawson, who is currently studying at NMMU.


The Trevor Winer Scholarship in 2013, went to Milan Gajjar and Shaheel Kooverjee. Shaheel, will be studying a BSC in Computer Science & Mathematics. Milan will be studying Medicine. Both recipients will be studying at The University of Cape Town (UCT).


The 2014 recipient of the Trevor Winer Scholarship is Mylan Jonas who will be studying BSc Construction Economics (Quantity surveying) at NMMU.


In addition to the original bursary Trevor Winer has increased the Scholarship by an additional R500 000. This is such a generous contribution towards the future of our boys.


The 2015 recipients of the Trevor Winer Scholarship are Sean Burger and Vuyolwethu Kwindla.


This year there are two recipients of the prestigious Trevor Winer Scholarship, Head boy Trent Burness, who is planning to study medicine at UCT and Deputy Head boy Takatso Radasi, a prospective Bcom student at NMMU. This was announced at the annual price giving held on 13 October 2016. We thank the Winer family for their amazing investment in the lives of our learners.


Main Reception


Tel: 041 966 1147

Fax: 041 961 0187



- Mrs J. Trenerry



Email: - Mr R Stephenson


O.M.U. Contact Details


National Secretary:Clayton du Plooy




Physical Address


Sir Thomas Muir Drive

Vanes Estate




Postal Address


PO Box 231

Vanes Estate