This bursary is named after the late Redvers Fleming McCleland who attended Muir College in 1919 ~ 1920. He was a farmer in the Greenbushes district at the time of his death on 4 July 1973.

On the death of the last nominated beneficiary in his Will, the Bursary Trust came into being. The annual income from this trust is to be used to assist a needy pupil or pupils of Muir College to attain a degree at any university in South Africa.

2017 recipient:
K. Jones; B. Snyman

James was the school Dux in 1996 and had a bright future ahead of him.Sadly he and his sister Kate tragically lost their lives on 1 January 1999 while returning home after attending a New Year’s Eve function.

James’ father who was the Anglican Minister at the time set up the fund at the school in memory of James.

2017 recipient:
John Fagbuyi

Muir College is pleased to announce the generosity of the Winer Family who have set up a scholarship to assist Muirites who are strong academically, but who do not have the financial means to attend a university of their choice. Another criteria is to be able to study a university degree which may not be offered in their immediate area.

The first recipient of the scholarship was Jade Williams, School Dux 2008, who was accepted to study medicine at the University of Cape Town and is a resident at Rochester House. The R25 000.00 scholarship will go a long way in assisting Jade realise his dream of becoming a medical doctor.

In 2009 the recipient of the Trevor Winer Scholarship was Jason Barker, who completed his Honours in Accounting at NMMU.

The 2010 recipient, Euan Klassen chose to study Accounting at Stellenbosch university. Euan is currently a Trainee Accountant at KPMG in Johannesburg.

The 2011 recipient, Kevin Flanagan has chosen to study civil engineering at NMMU.

The recipient of the Trevor Winer Scholarship in 2012 went to Kyle Dawson, who is currently studying at NMMU.

The Trevor Winer Scholarship in 2013, went to Milan Gajjar and Shaheel Kooverjee. Shaheel, will be studying a BSC in Computer Science & Mathematics. Milan will be studying Medicine. Both recipients will be studying at The University of Cape Town (UCT).

The 2014 recipient of the Trevor Winer Scholarship is Mylan Jonas who will be studying BSc Construction Economics (Quantity surveying) at NMMU.

In addition to the original bursary Trevor Winer has increased the Scholarship by an additional R500 000. This is such a generous contribution towards the future of our boys.